Need help? We’ve got answers.

Here are some of the questions we get the most. If you need help with something else you can search our knowledge base, or reach out to us anytime via chat, email or phone.

KEY TOPICS

GETTING STARTED

What do I need to get started?

An Office 365 exchange shared mailbox and a Windows 10 machine. If you currently use a regular user mailbox to manage inbound shared email, follow our documentation to convert to a shared mailbox.

The member of your organization with Global Administrator credentials for your Office 365 server. Global Administrator access is only required to configure mail flow settings during the initial onboarding.

PowerShell version 5.0 or higher on a Microsoft Windows machine. Emailgistics uses a PowerShell script for part of the onboarding process.

Do I need to import my existing emails into Emailgistics?

No. Emailgistics layers directly overtop of your Office 365 shared mailbox so you can maintain your email history and current messages in your inbox – no importing necessary!

What is an Emailgistics team inbox?

It’s simply an enhanced Office 365 shared mailbox. In addition to the standard inbox folder, a shared mailbox with Emailgistics contains individual user folders, which makes ownership of customer emails crystal clear among users and provides managers with the visibility they’ve always wanted.

Does my shared mailbox require a license?

While a license is not required for a shared mailbox, adding one would allow for more storage space in the mailbox. An unlicensed mailbox will allow 50GB worth of mail to be stored in it, while a licensed mailbox will allow 100GB worth of mail to be stored in it.

Your IT team should have a process to automatically purge old data from your mailbox to avoid running into any limitations due to the storage space being exceeded.

What is an Emailgistics User?

A user is any account that is synced in Office 365 Exchange to one or more shared mailboxes that have been onboarded to Emailgistics. A typical user without any additional privileges will be able to work and reply to incoming emails for any shared mailbox they are synced with. Additional information on user roles can be found here.

There is no minimum total user requirement, but Emailgistics was built to manage shared mailbox teams with multiple users.

How can I add or remove users to/from Emailgistics?

Emailgistics makes it easy for you to add and remove users. In the Emailgistics Admin Center click the {USERS} option from the left panel, underneath the list of users will be a button that says Sync Users with Office365.

When you click on that, it will ask you to download a PowerShell script. The PowerShell script will adjust any changes made for users in O365 and reflect those changes in Emailgistics. This will need to be run by your Global Admin of Office365.

Is the add-in mandatory?

The add-in is not mandatory, but the add-in will supercharge your mailbox to a whole other level and enhance the Emailgistics experience.

MAILBOXES

My users are seeing different things in the shared mailbox, what can I do to fix this?

This is usually a result of Cached Exchange Mode being on for shared mailboxes. You can turn cached exchange mode off for the shared mailboxes by following the instructions found at this link.

A subfolder from the Inbox accidentally got moved to a user’s folder, and now I can’t move it back. How can I get it back?

Once the subfolder is moved inside of a user folder, the Emailgistics folder sync will recognize it after 15 minutes, at which point it cannot be deleted or moved. Emailgistics will think it belongs there and will keep it there.

To get your subfolder back to where it is supposed to be, you will need to recreate the folder in its original location and drag all messages from the moved subfolder to the newly created subfolder. Once this is done, you can right click on the subfolder in the user’s folder and select delete folder. You may need to delete it from the deleted items as well.

MESSAGING

How can I initiate a message from my shared mailbox?

Being able to initiate a message from a shared mailbox needs to be configured in your Outlook application. You can check out our knowledge base to learn how to do this by clicking this link.

A message arrived in my named folder, how can I tell how it got there?

If you’re using the add-in or have the Conversation ID in the subject of the message, you can either click on the View History button in the add-in, or put the conversation ID into the Conversation History search bar in the admin. This will bring up all the history with every message in that conversation, and will show you exactly how the message was assigned to you.

My auto reply has been stuck in a loop between the mailbox and a customer. How can I stop this and how can I prevent it from happening again?

The best way to stop this would be to disable the auto reply rule temporarily. It shouldn’t need to be disabled for long, just until the loop stops.

This can be prevented by adding conditions and exceptions to your auto reply rule. The one that helps the most here is the [Conversation Is New] condition. If the conversation is new, the auto reply will fire. If it is not new, like in the example where a customer’s auto reply fires back, it will not send the auto reply again. You will also want to add an [Exception] to the auto reply rule. Exception: From Address is Equal to: “mailboxname@domainname.com”.

PRICING & TRIAL

What features can I use during the trial?

During the 14-day free trial you get access to all features available in our Pro plan.

What happens at the end of my trial period?

You can enter your billing information at any time during the trial to become a paid subscriber.

After the 14-day free trial, if you have not provided your billing information, your account may be suspended. If you wish to no longer use Emailgistics you can remove your mailbox in our Emailgistics Admin.

How does billing work?

Emailgistics offers monthly billing by credit card in USD. You pay for each user within a shared mailbox that is using Emailgistics.

If you add a user or upgrade your plan, the changes will be pro-rated for the remainder of your billing cycle. If you remove a user or downgrade your plan, the change will only take effect at the next billing cycle.

Can I upgrade or downgrade at any time?

Yes. Emailgistics is a pay-as-you-go service. So you can upgrade, downgrade or cancel at any time. We do not have cancellation fees. But if you cancel, you’ll be billed for the current billing cycle.

RULES

If I create a rule, will it work on messages which are already in the mailbox?

Once you create a rule, it will fire off on messages which arrive after the rule is created. Any messages which were in the mailbox prior to the rule being created will not have the rule action against them.

My rules are assigning messages to users when they are unavailable, or when they have already hit their max messages, how can I prevent this?

Whenever you create a rule with the Assign action, there are two checkboxes near the bottom of the assign box in the actions tab. These checkboxes are “Ignore max messages” and “Ignore availability”. If you want your rules to respect your users’ max message limit and/or availability status, these checkboxes should be left unchecked.